Finding the background to Drugs Ed

After still no response from any of the schools that I emailed I have decided to find out myself what education Edinburgh children are receiving. I have thoroughly read the government website and the reports are baffling! The review online stated “poor understanding of what prevention is actually being done”this shocks me that in this day and age the government has no understanding what our kids are being educated with or about. I have recently found out that there is a survey called Scottish Schools Adolescent Lifestyle and Substance Use Survey  (SALSUS) which I shall investigate further but for the meanwhile it shows that their has been a gradual decline in use sinceither 2002 but this is with the exception of boys aged 15 which actually shows an a small increase in the years 2013 and 2015. I shall also see what factors the increase was caused by if any…..

Overall though use has been stable since 2013.  Yet this is also shown in the report there to be little understanding as to why this is the case.

I am now not only feeling I am a starting to feel like Alice on the edge of the hole of a not so Wonderful place.  Why is there reports concluding that there is such high a poor understanding? It’s 2017 and we really should be on the ball with this as it’s such a serious matter. There shows that certain substances are on the rise for particular groups and I wonder what part of drugs prevention played a part in this.

I am going to read the report of Special Working Group on Prevention 2012 and see if any light can be shed on the “poor understanding”.

Leave a Reply

